INTRODUCTION

Home is our security blanket that protects us from external threats. But to work, it needs the collective effort of every member of the family. Only when we truly look after each other will the home give us that warm security. Have you come across similar situations to those we’re about to see in a family setting? Let’s take a look at how this family builds up their family resilience with the advice of an MSF psychologist.

PART I

FAMILY ACTIVITY

Resilience is really the ability to “bounce back” to healthy functioning when faced with events that cause stress. So family resiliency is about being able to cultivate strengths as a family unit to meet the challenges of life positively. Family resilience helps us to develop protection mechanisms against experiences which might otherwise be overwhelming. It helps us to maintain balance in our lives during difficult or stressful periods.

Family activities that involve communication are a great way to grow family resilience because that’s the key in all human relationships. And developing family traditions and habits of regular family activities, like playing sports or games together, are excellent ways to build up bonding and tune your communications channels with each other; especially games that focus on teamwork, problem-solving and communicating!

PART II

RESPECT BOUNDARIES

Rules and boundaries play an important part in family relationships. Boundaries are the set of guidelines that family members follow, for example, to respect each other’s privacy. It’s especially important for teenagers to feel that their privacy is being respected within the family. When children start secondary school, parents should ask for permission before doing things like going through their school bags. They should knock before going into their room and stop peeking into their phone conversations with friends. This not only increases the teenager’s sense of security and avoids unnecessary conflict within the family, but it’s also a way for them to learn that these are real social skills – boundaries – with their peers.

Now of course parents also want to be sure that they are protecting their children from external threats and online abuse. So all this needs to be weighed when setting boundaries. Respecting privacy doesn’t have to mean that you allow them to do what they want online. Monitoring content consumption or installing parental control software in their computer or smartphone are certainly things to consider.

PART III

“ALONE TIME” FOR PARENTS

Being a parent can be as stressful as having a full-time job. So in the same way that we need holidays from work to recharge ourselves, we also need time and space away from the children. Parents sometimes feel guilty, worrying that they are doing something wrong if they spend time alone or with their partner but without their children. The truth is, children will grow up healthier emotionally when their parents are happy and fulfilled.

It’s not always easy to make time for ourselves once we become a parent. But there are all sorts of ways to schedule some alone time for ourselves. It doesn’t have to be “romantic time” with your spouse, although that would be a great idea. It can be as little as a few minutes a day or several hours a week. For instance, try getting up 15 minutes before the rest of the family to listen to some music on your headphones, or take a lunchtime exercise class in a gym.

PART IV

FAKE NEWS

Social media are inseparable from our modern life and take a large part of our attention in a family. But they can be disruptive and even dangerous when they spread fake news. Sometimes there are conflicting opinions from what look like experts or confusing advice about public health. The language may be trying to create fear or anger or division.

So it’s especially important for family members to help each other to identify fake news and misinformation. We recommend a few steps that might help.

1. Check the news source:
For example, is the information coming from a trustworthy site originally? Is the author known in other reputable news sites? Not everyone will agree on which is absolutely the best news source but check that it comes from or is repeated by at least one of them.

2. Develop a critical attitude
Be aware of what is called “confirmation bias”, that is our tendency to unconsciously choose information that agrees with our existing beliefs. Try to challenge yourself about why you should believe it. Especially if the message comes from a news source that you do not recognise and you can’t find it anywhere else, it’s always good to ask the following question: Could there be a hidden agenda behind them spreading the news? For example, to sell specific products.

3. Rely on one or two very solid sources:
When it comes to really important issues like elections or global emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic, there are all kinds of reports everywhere. We recommend sticking to one or two reliable news sources such as the World Health Organization or the Centre for Health Protection.

PART V

STRESS SYMPTOMS IN PRE-SCHOOL CHILDREN 1,2,3

Stressful situations can have a big impact on the minds and the behaviour of young children. Staying at home without being able to go out, separation from their friends and from their wider family or watching disturbing news reports can all affect children’s behaviour and mood. They can produce mood swings, irritability, opposition to adults, feelings of sadness and fear, trouble sleeping, change in appetite or regressive behaviours (showing behaviours that they have grown out of). These are signs that tell us the child might be suffering from stress.

It can be difficult for your children to express their stress if they are too young. However, numerous studies have shown that the power of touch between parent and child can strengthen resiliency and increase trust, especially for children feeling anxious. Physical affection, like hugging children or holding their hands, can be stress-relieving for them and increase their sense of security.

Please do though think about the risks in the COVID-19 pandemic and pay extra attention to personal hygiene and preventive measures.

PART VI

COMMON STRESS SYMPTOMS IN ADOLESCENTS

Adolescents sometimes refuse to admit that they feel stressed and may avoid talking about it. What can caregivers do to help children and adolescents? To begin with, it is fundamental to communicate with your children and explain the difficult medical situation, for example. You need to choose the right words for their age, so they can continue trusting adults, while at the same time we have to be careful not to hand them our anxiety and worries.

But if they still refuse to talk about it, we should give them some space and help to create a respectful and loving family environment for them. We can do that by letting them know that we understand how difficult it is for them and showing that if they need help, they can always come to you. You could say, “I can see that you are under a lot of stress. I am worried about you. But it’s fine that you don’t want to talk about it now. When you do feel you need someone to talk to, I am always here for you.”

PART VII

STRESS SYMPTOMS (ALL AGES)

Our sleeping and eating cycles often change when we are under stress. This behaviour is related to the ‘fight’ or ‘flight’ response we have as a survival instinct. Imagine if a tiger is chasing you in the jungle; you wouldn’t be thinking about sleeping or eating. You would just want to escape from it as soon as possible. And your body is preparing you for that with the digestive system shutting down, an increase in heart rate and blood flooding to your muscles. That’s why we have changes in our appetite and sleeping patterns. So instead of forcing your children back to their routine, you should try to locate the source of their stress. Showing them your care and companionship is an excellent way to help them through difficult times. If the symptoms persist, then the issue could be medical and you should look for professional medical help at that point.

PART VIII

VIDEO GAMING 4,5

We might have a preconceived notion that video games are just bad for our children. But playing video games and surfing the internet can be an effective ways for children to relieve some of their stress and socialise with their friends. Research conducted at Columbia University suggested that children over 6 years old who play lots of video games may have better intellectual and social skills than their non-gaming peers. The team found links between high game usage and better peer relationships with good social skills.

Another study also showed that action-based video games not only reduce stress but can sharpen cognitive abilities, such as reaction speed. The study suggested video games can help gamers think more quickly on their feet and be better at problem-solving, which can reduce stress in other ways.

Even so, the scientists involved in these studies don’t want us to depend just on their findings, saying that “setting limits on screen usage remains an important component of parental responsibility as an overall strategy for student success.” Gaming should be balanced and monitored, which means talking to your children and working on a healthy schedule for internet use and gaming.

Reference:

  1. Aznar, A., & Tenenbaum, H. R. (2016). Parent–child positive touch: Gender, age, and task differences. Journal of nonverbal behavior, 40(4), 317-333.
  2. Brummelman, E., Terburg, D., Smit, M., Bögels, S. M., & Bos, P. A. (2019). Parental touch reduces social vigilance in children. Developmental cognitive neuroscience, 35, 87-93
  3. Jakubiak, B. K., & Feeney, B. C. (2016). A sense of security: Touch promotes state attachment security. Social Psychological and Personality Science, 7 (7), 745–753.
  4. Dye, M. W., Green, C. S., & Bavelier, D. (2009). Increasing speed of processing with action video games. Current directions in psychological science, 18(6), 321-326.
  5. Kovess-Masfety, V., Keyes, K., Hamilton, A., Hanson, G., Bitfoi, A., Golitz, D., … & Otten, R. (2016). Is time spent playing video games associated with mental health, cognitive and social skills in young children?. Social psychiatry and psychiatric epidemiology, 51(3), 349-357.

PLEASE REMEMBER, YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

概述

家是我們的避風港,在有需要的時候為我們遮風擋雨。但這個避風港需要每一位家庭成員的合力經營,彼此尊重才能發揮其力量。你有沒有跟以下這個家庭一樣,發生過類似的情況?一起來看看這個家庭如何透過無國界醫生心理學家的建議,建立屬於他們的家庭韌性(另稱家庭復原力)。

第一部分

家庭活動

韌性一般指人們在面對沉重壓力時,身心恢復健康的能力。家庭韌性則指整個家庭正面應對各項挑戰的能力。家庭韌性有助我們建立一套心理防衞機制,令我們能夠應對一些突如其來的困難,也有助我們在面對困難或壓力時,繼續維持身心健康。

在建立人際關係的過程中,溝通是重要的一環。因此,大家可以進行一些具溝通元素的家庭活動,從而建立家庭韌性。建立家人之間的相處習慣和定期進行家庭活動,例如和家人一起做運動或玩遊戲,尤其是講求團隊合作、解難和溝通的遊戲,都是增進感情和促進溝通的好方法。

第二部分

尊重彼此界線

家庭界線是指家庭成員一起訂立並遵守的規則,在維繫家庭關係中發揮重要作用,例如尊重彼此的私隱。讓青少年感受到自己的私隱備受家人尊重是十分重要的。當子女升讀中學時,家長如要打開孩子的書包,應首先獲得他們的同意;進入他們的房間前應先敲門,也不要偷看他們和朋友之間的對話紀錄。這樣可以增加青少年的安全感,避免家庭成員之間發生摩擦。青少年與跟朋友相處時,也可應用這些社交技巧,訂立屬於他們的界線。

我們明白,父母都希望保護子女免受傷害,所以在制定界線時,要在各方面取得平衡。尊重私隱不代表任由孩子在網上為所欲為,家長可以考慮觀察孩子花多少時間上網,或者在電腦和智能手機安裝家長控制應用程式。

第三部分

家長的獨處時間

做父母所面對的壓力可以跟上班一樣大。在工作上,我們有時候會向公司請假,暫停工作,放鬆一下自己。在家庭上,父母同樣需要給予自己時間和空間。有些家長在獨處或與伴侶二人世界時,可能會因為沒有陪伴在子女身旁而感到內疚,覺得自己做錯事。但事實上,當父母感到快樂和充實,子女的情緒健康也會在受感染下成長。

成為父母後要為自己騰出時間並不容易,但你也可以透過不同的方法為自己安排獨處的時間,短至每天幾分鐘,或長至每週幾個小時都可。例如大家可以比家人早15分鐘起床,然後用耳機聽音樂,或者善用午膳時間到健身室做運動。

第四部分

假新聞

今時今日,大家的生活都離不開社交網站,每天都會花時間瀏覽社交網站。但若不小心在社交網站上接觸到假新聞,則可能會帶來傷害和危險。這些假新聞有時候是由看似專家的人士提供自相矛盾的意見或令人困惑的建議,相關內容可能會引起恐懼、憤怒或造成分化。

因此,父母和子女應該互相幫助,一起辨別假聞和錯誤的資訊。大家可以考慮以下幾個簡單的步驟:

1. 核實新聞來源
這些資訊是不是來自可靠的網站?作者是否也曾出現在其他知名的新聞網站?

2. 建立批判的態度
大家要留意自己是不是存有「確認偏差」,即我們會不知不覺地選擇接收一些符合自己既定立場的資訊。因此,大家在接收資訊時,不妨先問問自己:我為甚麼要相信這些資訊呢?假如這些資訊來自自己不太認識的新聞來源,但又無法在其他地方找到同樣的資訊,那就最好先問一問自己:別人發佈這則消息時,背後是否另有動機?例如他們是在推銷產品嗎?

3. 依靠一至兩個可靠的資訊來源
當有重大事情發生時,例如選舉或2019冠狀病毒病等全球緊急情況時,到處都報導著不同的資訊。我們建議大家利用一、兩個可靠的新聞來源接收資訊,例如世界衛生組織衞生防護中心的網站。

第五部分

學前兒童受壓的症狀1,2,3

第五部分

學前兒童
受壓的症狀1,2,3

幼兒的思想和行為容易受到壓力環境影響。留在家中不能外出、與朋友和其他家人分開,或者收看一些令人不安的新聞報道,都可能會影響兒童的行為和情緒,有機會造成情緒波動、易怒、與成人對立、感到悲傷和恐懼、睡眠困難,以及改變食欲。他們也有可能出現倒退行為,即出現年幼時曾做過,但長大後原已經不再出現的行為。這些跡象都在告訴我們,孩子可能正面對壓力。

年紀太小的孩子可能不懂得如何表達自己的壓力,但有不少研究指出,親子之間可透過身體接觸,加強孩子的韌性和增進信任。對感到焦慮的孩子而言,這個方法特別有效。父母可透過身體接觸向孩子表達關懷,例如擁抱孩子和握住他們的手,這些都有助孩子緩解壓力,增加安全感。

2019冠狀病毒病大流行下,大家要留意相關風險,要特別注意個人衞生和遵守預防措施。

第六部分

青少年常見的壓力症狀

青少年有時會拒絕承認自己感到壓力,或會對壓力避而不談,那麼家長應該如何幫助兒童和青少年呢?首先,家長可以先嘗試與孩子溝通,並解釋目前所面對的困境。過程中,家長應使用與孩子年齡相符的用語去溝通,以保持他們對成人的信任,同時大家要避免把自己的焦慮和擔心轉到他們身上。

假如孩子仍不願意討論,我們應該給予他們空間並為他們建立一個充滿尊重和愛的家庭環境。我們可以讓孩子知道,我們理解他們的困難,並表明如果他們需要幫助,可以隨時來找你。你可以說:「我感受到你有很大壓力,我很擔心你。你現在不想談這個問題也沒關係。如果你覺得需要找人傾訴,我隨時樂意聆聽。」

第七部分

壓力症狀 (所有年齡)

我們面對壓力時,睡眠和飲食週期往往會有所改變。這種現象與我們「戰鬥或逃跑」的求生反應有關。大家可以想像一下:假如你在叢林裡被一隻老虎追趕,你不會想睡覺或吃飯,而是想盡快逃離險境。而你的身體在當刻也做好準備:暫停消化系統運作、心跳加速、肌肉充血,你的食欲和睡眠都因而受到影響。因此與其強逼孩子恢復正常生活,倒不如找出他們的壓力來源。你可以向孩子表達關懷,多陪伴他們,幫助他們度過難關。如果情況持續,那麼孩子的健康可能已經出現問題,家長應尋求專業醫療協助。

第八部分

電子遊戲 4,5

我們可能有一個先入為主的觀念,認為電子遊戲對孩子沒有益處,但是玩電子遊戲和上網或有效幫助孩子減壓,以及促進他們與朋友的相處。哥倫比亞大學的一項研究發現,6歲以上的兒童如果常常玩電子遊戲,他們的智力和社交能力可能較不玩遊戲的同齡小孩好。研究小組也發現,經常玩電子遊戲與良好的人際關係和社交能力之間存有關聯。另一項研究則發現,動作類電子遊戲不僅可以幫助玩家減輕壓力,更可以提高他們的認知能力,例如反應速度。該研究指出,電子遊戲有助玩家建立更敏捷的思考,也能加強玩家的解難能力,從而有助玩家在其他方面減輕壓力。

儘管如此,進行研究的科學家都不希望我們只聽從他們的研究結果,他們說:「家長在協助子女取得成功的過程中,也有責任限制子女使用電子儀器的時間。」孩子玩電子遊戲時應有所節制,所以家長應和子女溝通,共同制定使用互聯網和玩遊戲的良好時間表。

參考:

  1. Aznar, A., & Tenenbaum, H. R. (2016). Parent–child positive touch: Gender, age, and task differences. Journal of nonverbal behavior, 40(4), 317-333.
  2. Brummelman, E., Terburg, D., Smit, M., Bögels, S. M., & Bos, P. A. (2019). Parental touch reduces social vigilance in children. Developmental cognitive neuroscience, 35, 87-93.
  3. Jakubiak, B. K., & Feeney, B. C. (2016). A sense of security: Touch promotes state attachment security. Social Psychological and Personality Science, 7 (7), 745–753.
  4. Dye, M. W., Green, C. S., & Bavelier, D. (2009). Increasing speed of processing with action video games. Current directions in psychological science, 18(6), 321-326.
  5. Kovess-Masfety, V., Keyes, K., Hamilton, A., Hanson, G., Bitfoi, A., Golitz, D., … & Otten, R. (2016). Is time spent playing video games associated with mental health, cognitive and social skills in young children?. Social psychiatry and psychiatric epidemiology, 51(3), 349-357.

緊記,你並不孤單!